Shopping Cart
80% of profits donated to UK dog charities. Learn more >

Deaf Snowy White JRT (Curly coat) on death row…

Home Archive Forums Dogs Where can I find ……? Deaf Snowy White JRT (Curly coat) on death row…

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    vixc

Can anyone help….
    I am a trainer and behaviourist in Sheffield. (APDT 302) I was consulted yesterday by a couple with 9 year old daughter who own a 7 month old pure white, curly Coated, Parsons JRT. (neutered)  This pup has bitten the daughter on the lip when she woke him from a deep sleep. the mother told the child to wake the dog which she did by bending over him and stroking his back…. result he woke, statled and lunged at her, catchinhg her on the lip.(  ??? go figure!)

I thoroughly assesed the dog last night.  He is VERY defensive in his home.  Espeicially on waking. And even lunged at me after a light snooze at my feet.  He also resource guards beds, and the sofa. Turns out, that the owners did not know the dog was deaf till about 4 months of age, by which point, i believe but they wont confirm, that quite a bit of harsh handling had been used combined with spoiling him rotten the rest of the time. 
    The Dad had hauled the pup out from under the bed by his back leg, and had shifted him forcibly from their bed, when he was in a deep sleep.  So now he is wary upon waking and is very wary of the man.  He is sociable with other dogs on walks etc, but challenging towards them in the house.  He competes for toys and food.  He is basically a bundle of contradictions and complications….
    BUT, he is also sweet, willing to learn, responding to sign language, gentle,and  not an outright aggresive dog, very young, very cute and looks like Snowy from Tin Tin.