Shopping Cart
80% of profits donated to UK dog charities. Learn more >

meaty/recreational bones

Home Archive Forums Dogs Health meaty/recreational bones

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    deebee

cant get my head round this  so please illuminate me.

i got some bones from a box at a butchers. the lady serving didnt know what they were but they were 20p so got them.

they are end of leg with a hip socket type shape and bigger than my fist. the leg part is full of marrow and cut to be about 5 inches long.  i presume these are teeth bones not really food though there is a fair amount of meat left on them.

when should i feed them, after breakfast? afternoon/evening? could i leave him with one once he gets the hang of them?
    seems a shame to have them in the freezer when doggy could have them.

and yes , i am new to raw feeding lol :agree:

they are teeth bones ;D i usually give them mid morning or lunch time

deebee

wahey! thought so!!
    is it safe to leave him with it when i have to go out (he’d look forward to me going then)

i personly dont like leaving dogs with bones however im sure big marrow bone would be ok but someone else will know ;D

Anonymous

Hi,

i think its a personal thing – i have left mine with chix wings but they are well used to them and i dont crate them when i do this as the restricted movement may make them choke or something – i worry 😀

as a rule – bones that hold the animal up are teeth bones and are gnawed over time and disguarded and gone back to and turned into toys (here atleast) before being binned !!

bones that dont seem nessesary for it to stand are food bones and are gobbled up in about 1 second flat!

deffo teeth bones, there will be a little goodness in them if theres still flesh/muscle and marrow but eventually you’ll have a hollow bone you can stuff with other bits to keep him busy 😀

Claire x

xtine