Shopping Cart
80% of profits donated to UK dog charities. Learn more >

Really headstrong labrador puppy – help!

Home Archive Forums Dogs Basic Dog Training Really headstrong labrador puppy – help!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    kwaker5

Our lab pup is about 12 weeks now and we’re still having problems with playbiting, yapping, moaning/whining, jumping up.  He has house trained really easily and basic obedience training is going well (when we can get him to focus!).

He just seems to get more hyper when he is tired instead of just sleeping.  Most evenings he is confined to his crate because he just will not settle down in the living room.  He won’t play with his toys, he just wants to chew the sofa! 

I was just wondering if anyone had any specific advice on dealing with him.  We have a 6yo lab (we are not complete novices) who has made a wonderful pet.  I don’t remember him being like this at all.  He would quite happily lie down with a nylabone, and treat balls kept him amused for hours on end.

Hi and welcome BTW!  🙂

Mudgie

Hi and welcome  ;D

I wonder if the treats and food you are feeding him are contributing to him being a truly playful puppy.  ???  Have a look at the ingredients and it may be that changing it may be a good start.

if you tire his mind then he will be so tired to be naughty  😀 😀

Consistency in the house rules is the best way forward.  Be firm but fair.  Reward the good ignore the bad  ;D  Look on training posts you wont go far wrong.  And some nice pictures of the pupsters always helps  ;D

If he is food focused and lets face most labs are then train him when he is hungry  ;D  which in his head is probably every waking moment  😀

AND I wonder if he gets more attention when sofa chewing than when chewing toys  😉

Mudgie

reinforcement  ;D

kizkiznobite

hi and welcome